Though chocolate and its myriad products are ubiquitous, not all chocolate is equal. Different grades and formulations serve varying purposes. Options include chocolate that is created for fillings such as ganache, or couvertures that are used in enrobing and baking.

Milk Chocolate
Milk chocolate must contain minimum 10 percent chocolate liquor, 12 percent milk solids and 3.39 percent milk fat. The most popular form of chocolate, it is used primarily for eating.

Containing chocolate liquor with most of the cocoa butter removed, the fine powder picks up moisture and odours from other products and must be stored tightly covered in a cool, dry place.

Compound Chocolate
A blend of sugar, vegetable fat and other products, which might include cocoa powder and chocolate liquor, compounds are more flexible than standard chocolate. As a result, they can be developed into a number of varieties for flavour, colour and performance. Since compounds do not contain cocoa butter, they do not require tempering.

Dark Chocolate
Also known as bittersweet and semisweet chocolate, guidelines require dark chocolate to contain at least 35 percent chocolate liquor and less than 12 percent milk solids.

White Chocolate
White chocolate is defined as a combination of sugar, cocoa butter, milk solids, emulsifiers and optional flavouring, with a minimum of 20 percent cocoa butter and 14 percent milk solids. Colours are prohibited. A smooth ivory or beige colour, it is the most fragile form of chocolate,
especially when heated or melted.